Font Size

Board of Health Information

The Scioto County Board of Health

The Scioto County Board of Health is an appointed board comprised of five (5) members who are appointed to serve a five (5) year term by the Scioto County Trustees Advisory Council. The Trustee Advisory Council is comprised of all the  Township Trustee Presidents and village mayors in Scioto County.  The Board of Health is an administrative board which receives its powers and duties from the Ohio Revised Code as passed by the Ohio Legislature. By law, the Board of Health is the appointed authority for all matters related to the  Scioto County Health Department.  The Board appoints a Health Commissioner as its executive officer to direct the daily operations of the department and to carry out all orders of the Board. The Ohio Revised Code outlines some specific functions that the Board must carry out. These functions generally deal with the health, welfare, and safety of the residents of the county. The Board, as authorized by the Ohio Revised Code, can establish various divisions to carry out these functions.  


Board of Health Meetings:

Board of Health Meetings are held on the second Friday of every month at 12:00pm (noon).
Location: Scioto County Board of Health Conference Room
                      612 - 6th St., Suite D
                       Portsmouth, OH 45662
Board of Health Meetings are open to the public.

Members of the Board:

Laura Miller, R. Ph., President, Term expires March 2026
Christy Sherman, D.P.N., President Pro Temp, Term expires March 2025
Jerod Walker, D.O., Member Term expires March 2023
Sean Sturgill, R. Ph., Member Term expires March 2024
Aaron Adams, D.O., Member Term expires March 2027